Water Rescue

West Yorkshire Medical Services can provide comprehensive water safety, lifeguarding and water rescue awards leading to Royal Life Saving Society (RLSS) qualifications. It’s carefully selected trainers and assessors have significant experience with each award programmes and bring industry experience to ensure safe, quality and enjoyable training.

Training staff include two RLSS National Trainer/Assessors and together, they ensure that the qualifications are delivered to the highest possible standards.

National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (INSET)

WYMS is an Approved Training Provider (ATP) for the National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ).

The RLSS UK NPLQ is the most popular lifeguard qualification available in the United Kingdom. It complies with the industry standards identified by the HSE publication "Managing Health and Safety in Swimming Pools". To ensure employers meet statutory requirements for the Health and Safety of bathers in their facility, it is recommended that all lifeguards undergo regular in service training to maintain skills and knowledge.WYMS can facilitate this process and provide training staff to deliver high quality in-service training at a cost that suits.

National Beach Lifeguard Qualification (NBLQ)
(New and INSET)

The National Beach Lifeguard Qualification (NBLQ) is currently accepted as the standard qualification for Beach Lifeguards on most UK beaches. 

The NBLQ qualification comprises of five elements comprising lifeguard theory, first aid ,resuscitation, pool and open water skills. Additional modules applicable to different work environments include paddlecraft, personal fitness and water craft.

This Lifeguard qualification trains the skills required by those responsible for the direct supervision and safety of those using open water locations for recreational purposes.

The syllabus covers the criteria identified by the joint RLSS UK/RoSPA publicatios 'Safety on Beaches' and 'Safety and Inland Water Sites'.

Emergency Response  (Activity Supervisor)

The publication Safety at Inland Water Sites and Safety on Beaches acknowledged the increasing popularity of water sports and aquatic activities. They also identify the casual use of water sites and the need for consideration of safety issues. The core skills of this award will ensure that participants have an understanding of the safe supervision of activities in a wide range of aquatic environments. The syllabus includes accident prevention, Life Support, emergency first aid.

Emergency Response Certificate (Swimming Pools)

The Emergency Response Certificate (Swimming Pool) is designed to train ancillary staff to back up and support the lifeguard team and staff to respond in an emergency. The award includes pool safety and accident prevention, Life Support, Emergency first aid and water rescue skills.

National Rescue Award for Swimming Teachers and Coaches (NRASTC)

This qualification trains the practical Lifesaving skills that may be needed by anyone teaching or coaching swimming or another programmed activity in a swimming pool. The qualification is endorsed by the Amateur Swimming Association, the Institute of Sport and Recreation Management and the Institute of Swimming Teachers and Coaches. It is also recognised in 'Managing Health and Safety in Swimming Pools' as being appropriate for those supervising programmed activities.

Rescue Test for Supervisors of Swimmers with Disabilities (RTSSD)

This qualification is designed specifically for lifeguards, teachers, coaches and helpers who may be required to assist in a rescue situation whilst responsible for the supervision of swimmers who have disabilities. It is particularly relevant for operators and carers working in hydrotherapy pools.

For further information regarding NPLQ INSET training or any of the above programmes for your venue, please contact:

Mike Shucksmith
e: mike@westyorkshiremedical.co.uk
t: (07806) 486941

Mike Shucksmith,
15 Jan 2013, 10:03